An independent guide to cash-pay care. Every price is dated and sourced.

How we check

Hims vs Ro for weight loss October 2026

Ro is the safer pick of the two: both sell brand GLP-1s such as Zepbound from $299 a month, but Ro's membership runs $74 to $149 a month while Hims charges $149 after the first month, and Hims & Hers is being sued by the FTC over subscriptions and cancellation [1] [2] [3].

We earn commissions from some partners, which can affect where they appear on this page. It never changes a verdict. How we make money

Quick picks

  1. LifeMD Clean

    Good fit for: brand Wegovy or Zepbound with insurance help

    Program fee $39 first month, then $149/mo; Zepbound vial from $299, Wegovy pen from $199 (checked Oct 24 2026) [7]

    Visit LifeMDon the LifeMD website
  2. PlushCare weight loss Clean

    Good fit for: a prescriber plus prior authorization help

    Membership $19.99/mo (first month free); first visit $129 without insurance (checked Oct 24 2026) [8]

    Visit PlushCare weight losson the PlushCare weight loss website
  3. Ro (Ro Body Program) Clean

    Good fit for: brand drugs with prior authorization help

    Membership $39 first month, then $74 to $149/mo; Zepbound KwikPen $299 to $449/mo (checked Oct 24 2026) [1]

Full comparison below

We rate Ro Clean and Hims weight loss Avoid. Prices were checked Oct 24 2026.

Hims and Ro are US telehealth companies that prescribe brand GLP-1 weight loss drugs online and charge a monthly membership on top of the drug price.

Zepbound
From $299/moRo lists KwikPen $299 to $449 by dose [1]; Hims lists vial and KwikPen from $299 [2]
FDA letter
Hims onlyHims letter was about compounded semaglutide claims [4]
Lawsuit
HimsAllegations about subscriptions, cancellation and sharing health data; not proven [3]

The short answer

The drugs are the same. Both sell FDA-approved brand GLP-1s, and both price the drugs at or near the makers' self-pay prices [1] [2]. The difference is the fee you pay to stay a member and the company's record. Ro's membership can drop to $74 a month on a prepaid year [1]. Hims charges $149 every month after the first [2]. And Hims & Hers faces an open federal lawsuit over how it signs people up and lets them cancel [3]. Read the full Ro review and our Hims weight loss review.

An amber pharmacy bottle with a few white tablets on sage linen

Hims vs Ro side by side

Hims vs Ro weight loss, checked Oct 24 2026
RoHims
Our ratingCleanAvoid
Membership$39 first month, then $74 to $149/mo; $74 on a 12-month prepaid plan [1]$39 first month, then $149/mo, auto-renewing [2]
Drug billedSeparately from membership [1]Separately from membership [2]
ZepboundKwikPen $299 (2.5 mg), $399 (5 mg), $449 (7.5 to 15 mg with the maker's offer) [1]Vial or KwikPen from $299 [2]
Wegovy pen$199 for the first two fills at 0.25 or 0.5 mg (sign up by Dec 31 2026), then $349; 7.2 mg $399 [1]From $199 [2]
Wegovy pill$149 (1.5 mg), $199 (4 mg), $299 (9 and 25 mg) [1]From $149 [2]
Foundayo$149 to $299 by dose [1]From $149 [2]
Ozempic and MounjaroOzempic price not listed [1]Ozempic from $199; Mounjaro $1,899; both for type 2 diabetes only [2]
Compounded drugsNone [1]None listed on the weight loss page [2]
InsuranceFree coverage check for Ozempic, Wegovy and Zepbound pens [1]Insurance not required; acceptance not stated [2]
HSA/FSANot stated on the pricing page [1]Medication yes; membership no [2]
FDA warning letterNone on our trackerSept 9 2025, compounded semaglutide claims [4]
BBBNot yet checkedNot rated; accredited since Feb 22 2018; lists the pending FTC case [3]

What a year costs

Take Zepbound at 5 mg, which both companies sell from the maker's $399 price [1] [2]. The drug is the same cost either way. The membership is not: Ro's prepaid year works out to $74 a month, about $888 a year, while Hims's $39 first month and then $149 a month comes to $1,678 over 12 months [1] [2]. You can also skip both memberships: Lilly sells Zepbound through LillyDirect for the same $299 to $449 if your own doctor writes the prescription [5]. See Zepbound cost and Zepbound online.

Why we rate Hims Avoid

On July 29 2026 the FTC, the People of California and Utah's Division of Consumer Protection sued Hims & Hers Health in federal court in San Francisco (Case No. 3:26-cv-07871). The case alleges problems with subscription charges and cancellation, and sharing health information with advertising platforms. BBB notes the allegations are not proven and the case is open [3]. Under our rating rules, regulator action means Avoid. FDA also warned Hims on Sept 9 2025 over its compounded semaglutide marketing [4]. The same lawsuit covers Hers; see the Hers weight loss review and Hims testosterone review.

Who each fits

  • Ro: people who want brand Zepbound, Wegovy or Foundayo with a coverage check, and who can prepay a year to get the $74 membership [1].
  • Hims: we do not suggest it while the FTC case is open. If you already use Hims, check your renewal date and how to cancel in your account.
  • Want coaching more than a brand drug? See Ro vs Noom Med.

Switching from Hims to Ro

If you move to the same drug and dose, there is no label rule about switching companies; your new prescriber reviews your history and writes a new prescription. If you miss a Zepbound dose, the label says to take it within 4 days, or skip it and go back to your usual day [6]. Changing drugs is different and is set by your prescriber; see switching GLP-1s.

Clean-rated brand GLP-1 programs

  1. LifeMD

    Clean

    Good fit for: brand Wegovy or Zepbound with insurance help

    PriceProgram fee $39 first month, then $149/mo; Zepbound vial from $299, Wegovy pen from $199 (checked Oct 24 2026) [7]
    What you get
    Brand GLP-1s with a pharmacy benefit check
    FDA record
    No warning letter on our tracker
    BBB
    Not yet confirmed
    Note
    Not for Medicare or Medicaid members [7]. See our LifeMD review.

    Visit LifeMDon the LifeMD website

  2. Good fit for: a prescriber plus prior authorization help

    PriceMembership $19.99/mo (first month free); first visit $129 without insurance (checked Oct 24 2026) [8]
    What you get
    Prescriber visits, in-network billing and prior authorization requests
    FDA record
    No warning letter on our tracker
    BBB
    Not yet confirmed
    Note
    Drug cost is separate. See our PlushCare review.

    Visit PlushCare weight losson the PlushCare weight loss website

  3. Good fit for: brand drugs with prior authorization help

    PriceMembership $39 first month, then $74 to $149/mo; Zepbound KwikPen $299 to $449/mo (checked Oct 24 2026) [1]
    What you get
    FDA-approved brand GLP-1s only
    FDA record
    No warning letter on our tracker
    BBB
    Not yet confirmed
    Note
    See our Ro review.

    Visit Ro (Ro Body Program)on the Ro website

See Ro priceson the Ro website

Safety on any brand GLP-1

Zepbound carries a boxed warning for thyroid C-cell tumors seen in rodents; do not use it with a personal or family history of medullary thyroid carcinoma or MEN 2 [6]. Severe stomach pain that will not go away can signal pancreatitis and needs prompt care, and low blood sugar is more likely with insulin or a sulfonylurea. Call 911 for signs of a severe allergic reaction.

Questions people ask

Is Hims or Ro better for weight loss?

They sell the same brand drugs at similar prices, so the drug works the same either way. We rate Ro Clean and Hims weight loss Avoid, because Hims & Hers faces an FTC lawsuit filed July 29 2026 over subscriptions and cancellation [3], and Ro's membership can be $74 a month against Hims's $149 [1] [2].

Is Ro cheaper than Hims?

On membership, yes. On Oct 24 2026 Ro charged $39 the first month, then $74 to $149 a month, with $74 on a 12-month prepaid plan [1]. Hims charged $39 the first month, then $149 a month [2]. Drug prices were similar, with Zepbound from $299 at both [1] [2].

Does Hims or Ro sell compounded semaglutide?

Neither listed compounded GLP-1s on its weight loss pages on Oct 24 2026. Ro lists only FDA-approved GLP-1s [1], and Hims listed only brand products [2]. FDA warned Hims on Sept 9 2025 over its earlier compounded semaglutide marketing [4].

Why is Hims rated Avoid?

The FTC, California and Utah sued Hims & Hers Health on July 29 2026 (Case No. 3:26-cv-07871, N.D. Cal.) over subscription charges, cancellation and sharing health data with ad platforms [3]. Our rules rate a company Avoid during regulator action. The allegations are not proven [3].

Do Hims and Ro take insurance?

Ro offers a free coverage check for Ozempic, Wegovy and Zepbound pens and handles the paperwork [1]. Hims says insurance is not required and does not say it bills insurance; its membership fee is not HSA or FSA eligible, though the medication fee is [2].

Can I get Zepbound without a membership?

Yes. LillyDirect sells Zepbound for $299 (2.5 mg), $399 (5 mg) and $449 (7.5 to 15 mg, with a refill within 45 days) to anyone with a prescription, including one from your own doctor [5].

Medical review: pending. A licensed clinician has not yet reviewed this page.

Sources

8 cited
  1. Ro weight loss pricing. Ro, Oct 24, 2026.
  2. Hims weight loss program. Hims & Hers Health, Inc., Oct 24, 2026.
  3. Hims & Hers, Inc. business profile (government action listed). Better Business Bureau, Oct 24, 2026.
  4. Warning letter: Hims & Hers Health, Inc. dba Hims (716567). U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Sep 9, 2025.
  5. Zepbound on LillyDirect: self-pay prices. Eli Lilly and Company, Oct 24, 2026.
  6. Zepbound (tirzepatide) prescribing information. DailyMed, National Library of Medicine, Aug 2026.
  7. LifeMD weight management. LifeMD, Oct 24, 2026.
  8. PlushCare weight loss program. PlushCare, Oct 24, 2026.

This page is general information, not medical advice. Talk with a licensed clinician about your own care.

See Ro pricesWe may earn a commission