An independent guide to cash-pay care. Every price is dated and sourced.

How we check

Compounding pharmacies used by telehealth companies

Ten compounding and fulfillment pharmacies are tied to companies we review: MEDVi and OrderlyMeds name 3 each on their sites, Eden links its own pharmacy, Biote and Hims & Hers own 503B facilities, and news reports name Mochi Health's former supplier [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6].

Two are FDA-registered 503B outsourcing facilities and the rest are state-licensed pharmacies, and 5 have an FDA warning letter, Form 483, recall or state action on record as of Oct 24, 2026 [7] [8]. We rate telehealth companies, not pharmacies, so these pages state facts and give no verdicts.

A compounding pharmacy mixes or alters drug ingredients to make a medicine that is not FDA-approved, either as a state-licensed 503A pharmacy or as an FDA-registered 503B outsourcing facility.

With an FDA or state action on record
5 of 10 [8]
Checked
Oct 24, 2026

503A and 503B in plain words

  • 503A pharmacy: a state-licensed pharmacy that compounds drugs for individual patients' prescriptions under section 503A of federal law. State boards of pharmacy handle day-to-day oversight [25].
  • 503B outsourcing facility: a category created in 2013 by the Drug Quality and Security Act. These facilities must follow current good manufacturing practice, FDA inspects them on a risk-based schedule [25], and they may or may not fill patient-specific prescriptions [26].
  • Neither is FDA approval. Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved, and FDA does not verify their safety, effectiveness or quality before they are marketed [25]. Registration as a 503B means only that FDA received the required information [26].

For what this means for GLP-1s, see compounded semaglutide and compounded tirzepatide. State rules on compounding are in our laws by state page, and the glossary defines the terms.

The pharmacies our reviewed providers name

Pharmacies named by providers we review, checked Oct 24, 2026
PharmacyTypeStateFDA or state actions on recordReviewed provider that names itChecked
Triad Rx503AALWarning letter 2019 (closed 2023); 483 and state referral 2023 [9] [10] [11]MEDVi [1]Oct 24, 2026
Red Rock Pharmacy503AUTForm 483 Jul 2026 (Springville site) [12]MEDVi [1]Oct 24, 2026
Beaker Pharmacy503A (not on 503B list)TXNone found [8] [13]MEDVi [1]Oct 24, 2026
SmartPharmaRXSays 503ANot statedNo recalls found [14]OrderlyMeds [2]Oct 24, 2026
Casa Pharma RXSays 503ATXNone found [15]OrderlyMeds (names "Casa") [2]Oct 24, 2026
PerfectRxRetail pharmacy (not stated as compounding)TXNo recalls found [16]OrderlyMeds [2]Oct 24, 2026
Asteria Health503BAL483 Dec 2025; Class II recall Jan 2026 [17] [18]Biote (owner) [4]Oct 24, 2026
MedisourceRx503BCA483 Jun 2025; warning letter Dec 2025 (closed Jul 2026) [19] [20] [21]Hims & Hers (owner) [5]Oct 24, 2026
Eden Pharmacy503A (not on 503B list)NMNone found for the pharmacy [22]Eden [3]Oct 24, 2026
Aequita Pharmacy503A (state-licensed)WAClass II recall Jul 2025; state stop-service order Mar 2025 [23] [24]Mochi Health (former) [6]Oct 24, 2026
"None found" means we found nothing in FDA's compounding actions page, its outsourcing facility list, openFDA recall data or a search of FDA warning letters on that date. State boards, not FDA, handle day-to-day oversight of 503A pharmacies, so a clean federal record is not a quality rating. SmartPharmaRX, Casa Pharma RX and PerfectRx pages are marked unconfirmed because the provider named them without an address.

Pharmacies people ask about that our reviewed providers do not name

Empower, Belmar, Strive, Olympia and Hallandale come up in searches, but none of the providers we review named them as a supplier in the sources we checked, so we have not built pages for them yet. Two facts from FDA records, checked Oct 24, 2026:

  • FDA's outsourcing facility list includes Empower Pharma in Houston, TX and Empower Clinic Services New Jersey in East Windsor, NJ [7]. FDA sent Empower Pharmacy a warning letter on Sep 18, 2026 [27].
  • The list includes BSO LLC, which FDA's actions page identifies as Belmar Select Outsourcing, in Golden and Lakewood, CO [7] [8].

How to check any pharmacy yourself

  1. Get the name and address. Ask the telehealth company, or read the pharmacy label on the box or vial. FDA calls a pharmacy name on the label that you think might be fraudulent a red flag [28].
  2. Look up the license. FDA's BeSafeRx page links the license search for every state board of pharmacy [29]. Check the home state and your own state.
  3. If it says 503B, check FDA's list. FDA posts registered outsourcing facilities with their last inspection date and whether a Form 483 was issued [7].
  4. Search FDA's actions page. FDA lists warning letters, 483s and recalls for 503A and 503B compounders by name [8]. Our our FDA warning letter tracker covers letters to telehealth companies.
  5. Check the website with NABP. Safe.Pharmacy's Safe Site Search shows whether NABP has reviewed a site, and it lists signs of a safe pharmacy: valid prescriptions only, licensed where it is and where you live, and a pharmacist you can reach [30].
  6. Skip research-use-only sellers. They are not pharmacies; see research-use-only GLP-1s.

Report a problem

FDA asks people to report side effects and quality problems with any medicine to MedWatch [28]. As of May 31, 2026, FDA had received 990 adverse event reports tied to compounded semaglutide and more than 730 tied to compounded tirzepatide, and says these are likely undercounts [28]. For an emergency, call 911.

Choosing a program instead of a pharmacy? Compare prices on GLP-1 costs and read our provider reviews.

In this section

Overviews

Sections

Costs and prices

Comparisons

Online programs

Guides

Trackers

Finding care

Questions people ask

What is the difference between a 503A and a 503B pharmacy?

A 503A pharmacy is state-licensed and compounds for individual prescriptions, with state boards handling day-to-day oversight; a 503B outsourcing facility must follow current good manufacturing practice and is inspected by FDA on a risk-based schedule [25].

Are compounded drugs from a 503B facility FDA-approved?

No. Outsourcing facilities are not required to get FDA approval of their compounded products, and registration means only that FDA received the required information [26].

How do I check if a compounding pharmacy is licensed?

Use your state board of pharmacy's license search; FDA's BeSafeRx page links every state's search [29]. Check the pharmacy's home state and the state you live in.

How do I check if a pharmacy is a 503B outsourcing facility?

Look for it on FDA's registered outsourcing facilities list, which shows each facility's city, state, last inspection date and whether a Form 483 was issued, current as of Oct 22, 2026 [7].

How do I find FDA warning letters or recalls for a pharmacy?

FDA's compounding inspections, recalls and other actions page lists 483s, warning letters and recalls for compounders by name, updated Oct 22, 2026 [8].

Does Wellchosen Health rate compounding pharmacies?

No. We rate telehealth companies. Our pharmacy pages state each pharmacy's 503A or 503B status, FDA and state record and which reviewed providers name it, checked Oct 24, 2026 [7].

Which telehealth companies name their pharmacies?

Among providers we review, MEDVi, OrderlyMeds and Eden name pharmacies on their sites, and Biote and Hims & Hers name facilities in SEC filings, checked Oct 24, 2026 [1] [2] [3] [4] [31].

Medical review: pending. A licensed clinician has not yet reviewed this page.

Sources

31 cited
  1. MEDVi GLP-1 site, partner pharmacies list. MEDVi, Oct 24, 2026.
  2. OrderlyMeds home page, FAQ "Are OrderlyMeds pharmacies regulated?". OrderlyMeds, Oct 24, 2026.
  3. Eden home page. Eden, Oct 24, 2026.
  4. biote Corp. Form 10-K for fiscal year 2025. biote Corp. (SEC filing), Mar 2026.
  5. Nivagen Pharmaceuticals sells MedisourceRx business unit to Hims & Hers. Business Wire (Nivagen press release), Sep 23, 2024.
  6. Mochi Health weight loss drugs face scrutiny. NBC Bay Area, Jun 4, 2026.
  7. Registered outsourcing facilities. FDA, 2026-10-22 (accessed 2026-10-24).
  8. Compounding: inspections, recalls, and other actions. FDA, 2026-10-22 (accessed 2026-10-24).
  9. Warning letter to Triad Rx, Inc. (569659). FDA, Feb 5, 2019.
  10. Closeout letter to Triad Rx, Inc. (569659). FDA, May 3, 2023.
  11. Triad Rx, Inc. state referral letter to the Alabama State Board of Pharmacy. FDA, 2023-05-03 (accessed 2026-10-24).
  12. Form FDA 483, CD Pharmacy, LLC dba Red Rock Pharmacy, Springville, UT. FDA, Jul 31, 2026.
  13. openFDA drug enforcement (recall) search: recalling firm "Beaker", no records returned. FDA (openFDA), Oct 24, 2026.
  14. openFDA drug enforcement (recall) search: recalling firm "SmartPharma", no records returned. FDA (openFDA), Oct 24, 2026.
  15. openFDA drug enforcement (recall) search: recalling firm "Casa", no records returned. FDA (openFDA), Oct 24, 2026.
  16. openFDA drug enforcement (recall) search: recalling firm "PerfectRx", no records returned. FDA (openFDA), Oct 24, 2026.
  17. Form FDA 483, F.H. Investments, Inc. dba Asteria Health, Birmingham, AL. FDA, Dec 19, 2025.
  18. openFDA drug enforcement (recall) records: recalling firm F.H. Investments, Inc. dba Asteria Health. FDA (openFDA), Oct 24, 2026.
  19. MedisourceRx, Los Alamitos, CA, Form FDA 483. FDA, Jun 10, 2025.
  20. Warning letter to MedisourceRx (717970). FDA, Dec 12, 2025.
  21. Closeout letter to MedisourceRx (717970). FDA, Jul 27, 2026.
  22. openFDA drug enforcement (recall) searches: recalling firm "Eden" and "Contigo", no records returned. FDA (openFDA), Oct 24, 2026.
  23. Pharmacy Quality Assurance Commission issues Limited Stop Service on license of pharmacy (release 25-034). Washington State Department of Health, Mar 13, 2025.
  24. openFDA drug enforcement (recall) records: recalling firm Aequita Pharmacy. FDA (openFDA), Oct 24, 2026.
  25. Compounding and the FDA: questions and answers. FDA, 2025-09-16 (accessed 2026-10-24).
  26. Questions and answers: outsourcing facility registration. FDA, 2019-07-02 (accessed 2026-10-24).
  27. Warning letter to Empower Clinic Services, LLC dba Empower Pharmacy (738238). FDA, Sep 18, 2026.
  28. FDA's concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss. FDA, 2026-10-01 (accessed 2026-10-24).
  29. Locate a state-licensed online pharmacy. FDA BeSafeRx, 2024-11-13 (accessed 2026-10-24).
  30. Find safe online pharmacies. National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (Safe.Pharmacy), 2026-07-01 (accessed 2026-10-24).
  31. Hims & Hers Health, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year 2025. Hims & Hers Health, Inc. (SEC filing), Feb 2026.

This page is general information, not medical advice. Talk with a licensed clinician about your own care.

See FDA warning letters