Semaglutide is a GLP-1 drug made by Novo Nordisk and sold as Wegovy (weekly pen or daily pill) for weight management and as Ozempic for type 2 diabetes [6] [7].
Every way to buy semaglutide, priced
Novo Nordisk's self-pay prices are flat across most doses, which makes brand semaglutide easier to budget than tirzepatide. Compounded prices swing with plan length and promotions. Single-brand pages: Wegovy cost, Wegovy pill, Ozempic cost.
| Channel | Monthly price | What is included | Checked | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wegovy pen, NovoCare self-pay | $349 ($399 for 7.2 mg) | Box of 4 pens; $199 for the first two 0.25 or 0.5 mg fills for new patients | Oct 17, 2026 | NovoCare [1] |
| Wegovy pill, NovoCare self-pay | $149 (1.5 mg), $199 (4 mg), $299 (9 and 25 mg) | 30 tablets | Oct 17, 2026 | NovoCare [1] |
| Ozempic, NovoCare self-pay | $349 (0.25 to 1 mg), $499 (2 mg) | Type 2 diabetes drug; $199 intro for two starter fills | Oct 17, 2026 | NovoCare [2] |
| Wegovy or Ozempic, plan covers it, with savings offer | As little as $25 | Savings capped at $100 a month; commercial insurance only | Oct 17, 2026 | NovoCare [1] [2] |
| Wegovy, Medicare GLP-1 Bridge | $50 | Pen or pill, if eligible; Ozempic excluded | Oct 17, 2026 | CMS [8] |
| Eden, compounded | $99 | Headline price; same price at every dose; inclusions not stated | Oct 17, 2026 | Eden [3] |
| bmiMD, compounded | As low as $119 | Plan length not shown | Oct 17, 2026 | bmiMD [9] |
| OrderlyMeds, compounded | $149 monthly; $74 first month for new customers | Same price at every dose; no membership fee | Oct 17, 2026 | OrderlyMeds [10] |
| Found, compounded plan | $169 to $289 per 28 days | Drug and care; $169 needs a 12-month plan; labs extra | Oct 17, 2026 | Found [11] |
| FancyMeds, compounded 0.25 mg a week | $249 per 4 weeks (promo from $108.99) | One-time purchase; no membership | Oct 17, 2026 | FancyMeds [12] |
| Direct Meds, compounded | $297 | Drug, evaluation, supplies, shipping, nurse; no contract | Oct 17, 2026 | Direct Meds [4] |
What the low prices leave out
- Commitment. Found's lowest compounded rate needs a 12-month plan; month to month it is $289 [11].
- Intro offers that end. OrderlyMeds' $74 month is for new customers, then the standard rate applies [10]. Novo's $199 Wegovy price covers two fills [1].
- Visit fees. Henry Meds charges $30 for an evaluation that leads to a prescription [15]. NovoCare needs a prescription from someone; a telehealth membership may cost $74 to $149 a month, as at Ro [16].
- Refund limits. Henry Meds says medicine is final sale once shipped [15]. Read terms before prepaying.
Compounded semaglutide: the legal and safety picture
FDA declared the semaglutide shortage over on Feb 21, 2025. Its leeway for 503A pharmacies to compound copies ended April 24, 2025, and for 503B outsourcing facilities on May 22, 2025 [17]. Pharmacies may still compound for an individual patient when the prescriber documents a significant difference, but outsourcing facilities may not make it from bulk ingredient [17]. In September 2026 FDA told a large compounder that semaglutide mixed with vitamin B12 (cyanocobalamin) was essentially a copy of an approved drug [18].
Compounded semaglutide is not FDA-approved, and FDA does not review it for safety, effectiveness or quality [30]. FDA had received 990 adverse event reports for it by May 31, 2026, and says semaglutide sodium and semaglutide acetate are different ingredients with no lawful basis for compounding [5]. Read compounded semaglutide and check any program in the FDA warning letter tracker.
Measuring compounded doses
FDA has reports of hospitalizations after people mismeasured compounded semaglutide or were prescribed doses above the label [5]. Units depend on the concentration on your pharmacy label; follow your prescriber and the pharmacy label and ask the pharmacist. FDA advises discarding multi-dose vials 28 days after first use and using a new sterile needle and syringe each time [5]. Severe stomach pain that will not go away or signs of an allergic reaction need prompt care; for an emergency, call 911.
Insurance and semaglutide
Coverage depends on the plan your employer or insurer chose, not the company's name, and on the reason for the prescription. Wegovy is approved for weight management and heart risk reduction [6]; Ozempic for type 2 diabetes [7]. The $25 offers work only for commercial plans that cover the drug [1]. Medicare's Bridge covers Wegovy, not Ozempic [8]. Step-by-step checks are in does insurance cover Wegovy and does insurance cover Ozempic.
Semaglutide or tirzepatide?
Brand semaglutide usually costs less at higher doses: $349 for Wegovy against $449 for Zepbound on time [1] [19]. In STEP 1, Wegovy 2.4 mg produced 14.9% average weight loss at 68 weeks [20]. In SURMOUNT-5, tirzepatide averaged 20.2% against 13.7% for semaglutide at 72 weeks [21]. Stopping matters for cost too: one year after people stopped semaglutide in the STEP 1 extension, they had regained about two-thirds of the weight they lost [22]. See tirzepatide cost and what happens when you stop semaglutide.
We may earn a commission if you sign up through some links on this page. It never changes a verdict. How we make money
Semaglutide programs online (clean or caution verdicts only)
- Clean
- Price
- Compounded plan $169 to $289 per 28 days; brand plan $99 to $149 plus drug [11]
- What you get
- Compounded or brand semaglutide with care
- FDA record
- No FDA warning letter found as of Oct 17, 2026
- BBB
- Not yet checked
- Note
- Labs excluded
- Clean
- Price
- As low as $119 a month [9]
- What you get
- Compounded semaglutide; microdose plans
- FDA record
- No FDA warning letter found as of Oct 17, 2026
- BBB
- Not yet checked
- Note
- Plan length behind the price not shown
- Use caution
- Price
- $149 a month; $74 first month [10]
- What you get
- Compounded semaglutide, same price at every dose
- FDA record
- Warning letter June 8, 2026
- BBB
- Not yet checked
- Note
- Pages now say compounded drugs are not FDA-approved
- Use caution
- Price
- $99 a month headline [3]
- What you get
- Compounded semaglutide and brand drugs
- FDA record
- Warning letter June 8, 2026; label branding fix not confirmed
- BBB
- Not yet checked
- Note
- Inclusions not stated
- Clean
- Price
- Wegovy pen $199 to $399, pill $149 to $299, plus membership [16]
- What you get
- Brand semaglutide only
- FDA record
- No FDA warning letter found as of Oct 17, 2026
- BBB
- Not yet checked
- Note
- For people who want FDA-approved semaglutide
Left off this list
Prefer in person? See semaglutide near you, or city pages like Houston and Chicago.
Questions people ask
How much is semaglutide without insurance?
Does insurance cover semaglutide?
Does Blue Cross Blue Shield, Aetna or Cigna cover semaglutide?
Coverage depends on your employer's plan, not the carrier name. Two members of the same insurer can have different answers. Check your plan's drug list, ask about prior authorization and BMI rules, and if covered, use Novo's savings offer, which can bring the cost to $25 [1].
What is semaglutide the generic name for?
Can you buy semaglutide over the counter?
How much does semaglutide cost per month with insurance?
How do I get off semaglutide without regaining weight?
Talk with your prescriber before stopping. In the STEP 1 extension, people regained about two-thirds of their lost weight in the year after stopping [22].
Sources
30 cited
- Wegovy self-pay offer. Novo Nordisk (NovoCare Pharmacy), Oct 17, 2026.
- Ozempic at NovoCare Pharmacy. Novo Nordisk (NovoCare Pharmacy), Oct 17, 2026.
- Eden home page and prices. Eden, Oct 17, 2026.
- DirectMeds pricing. DirectMeds, Oct 17, 2026.
- FDA's concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss. US Food and Drug Administration, Oct 1, 2026.
- Wegovy (semaglutide) injection and tablets label. DailyMed, National Library of Medicine, Jun 2026.
- Ozempic (semaglutide) injection label. DailyMed, National Library of Medicine, May 2026.
- Medicare GLP-1 Bridge: information for pharmacies. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, Oct 17, 2026.
- bmiMD home page and prices. bmiMD, Oct 17, 2026.
- OrderlyMeds pricing. OrderlyMeds LLC, Oct 17, 2026.
- Found offer terms. Found, Oct 17, 2026.
- FancyMeds home page and prices. FancyMeds, Oct 17, 2026.
- TrumpRx.gov home page. TrumpRx.gov (US government), Oct 17, 2026.
- Novo Nordisk announces reduction in US list price for Wegovy, Ozempic and Rybelsus. Novo Nordisk via PR Newswire, Feb 24, 2026.
- Henry Meds refund and return policy. Henry Meds, Oct 17, 2026.
- Ro weight loss pricing. Ro, Oct 17, 2026.
- FDA clarifies policies for compounders as national GLP-1 supply begins to stabilize. US Food and Drug Administration, Apr 1, 2026.
- Warning letter: Empower Pharmacy. US Food and Drug Administration, Sep 18, 2026.
- Zepbound on LillyDirect: self-pay prices. Eli Lilly and Company (LillyDirect), Oct 17, 2026.
- Once-weekly semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity (STEP 1). New England Journal of Medicine (PubMed), Feb 10, 2021.
- Tirzepatide as compared with semaglutide for the treatment of obesity (SURMOUNT-5). New England Journal of Medicine (PubMed), May 11, 2025.
- Weight regain and cardiometabolic effects after withdrawal of semaglutide: STEP 1 trial extension. Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism (PubMed), May 19, 2022.
- Shed BBB profile. Better Business Bureau, Oct 17, 2026.
- Thrive Health Group (Fridays) BBB profile. Better Business Bureau, Oct 17, 2026.
- MedVi BBB profile. Better Business Bureau, Oct 17, 2026.
- Mochi Health weight loss drugs under scrutiny. NBC Bay Area, Oct 17, 2026.
- FTC, Utah and Los Angeles County sue Hims & Hers. Insurance Journal, Jul 30, 2026.
- Weight loss drugs coverage. Medicare.gov (CMS), Oct 17, 2026.
- TrimRx BBB profile. Better Business Bureau, Oct 17, 2026.
- Compounding and the FDA: questions and answers. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 2025-09-16 (accessed 2026-10-17).
This page is general information, not medical advice. Talk with a licensed clinician about your own care.